Day 7: $160 Challenge

I fell asleep at 9:30 last night before I had a chance to blog. It was a long day…

Anyway, I have realized that I will need to start saving my pennies if I’m actually going to do anything fun this month. We have $45 worth of gift cards to Olive Garden and some steakhouse restaurant… yeah. We’ve had those for awhile… not the most exciting choice for a vegan, but it’s an option. I’m not going to lie. It is a little fun to be creative in finding menu items in non-vegan restaurants, but after the tip we won’t have really saved much by using these gift cards anyway.

My goal is to save enough to go wine tasting. It has kind of become a Halloween tradition. The tasting fees can add up, but it is relatively inexpensive. The hardest part is tasting and leaving without making a larger purchase. I can feel the person behind the bar watching us as we walk away and imagine them muttering something along the lines of “cheap bastards.” I know it’s all in my head, but still maybe we’ll aim for larger establishments…

 

Day 7:

Starting Cash:     $136.43

Spent:     $3.48   I can do better than this.

Ending Cash:     $132.95

 

Purchases:

1 Luna Bar @$0.99, 1 Amy’s Black Bean Burrito @$2.49

Breakfast:

  • Peanut butter banana smoothie

and that was the last of the peanut butter. 😦

Lunch:

  • Luna Bar
  • Burrito
  • Candy

Dinner:

  • Pasta with Gardein meatballs and marinara sauce with a sprinkle of nooch.

Image

The meatballs were from my boss. She didn’t like them. I thought they tasted like liquorice… maybe too much anise or fennel? I like that they are nice and big [resist urge to make childish joke], but prefer Nate’s or Gimme Lean.

The marinara sauce was just a basic sauce made from 1 large can crushed tomatoes; garlic powder; dried oregano, basil, thyme, and crushed red pepper; salt & pepper.

The pasta was Wegmans Foglie di Ulivo. I’m not really a big pasta eater. This stuff has been sitting in the pantry for months. I have this habit of buying things like jams, and nail polish, and then never eat, or wear, them. I like pretty things. This pasta is pretty. Don’t judge me.

Image

Thoughts?